Manage profiles

A profile is a collection of Terminal settings. Terminal supports multiple profiles. You can configure Terminal profiles to run a custom command or shell, set a profile exclusively to connect to remote computers using SSH or set a profile that launches a GNU Screen session.

The available Terminal settings include:

  • Profile name.

  • Font and background colors.

  • Compatibility with Backspace and Delete keys.

  • Scrolling.

The default profile is loaded when a new terminal is opened unless you have selected another profile. Any changes that you make to the settings will be stored in the currently used profile.

Set a default profile

The default profile is a collection of profile settings applied on the launch of every Terminal tab or window.

  1. Select Edit ▸ Preferences ▸ Profiles.

  2. Select the profile to be set as default from the Profile used when launching a new terminal drop down list.

Select a profile

You can change the profile in your current Terminal tab or window by selecting a profile from Terminal ▸ Change Profile.

Create a new profile

Any changes to a new profile are saved automatically. To create a new profile:

  1. Select File ▸ New Profile.

  2. Enter a name for the new profile next to Profile name.

  3. Select font, cursor shape and window size in the General tab.

  4. Set your preferred behavior for the exit command. You can also set a custom shell in the Command tab.

  5. Set your preferred theme and colors in the Colors tab.

  6. Set your scrolling preference in the Scrolling tab.

Create a new profile based on an existing profile

You can create a new profile based on settings from an existing profile:

  1. Select the profile that you wish to edit from Terminal ▸ Change Profile ▸ Profile name where Profile name is the name of the profile that you wish to edit. Alternatively, you can select File ▸ New Profile to clone the profile that you are currently using.

  2. Set your desired profile preferences. These will be saved automatically. If you do not update the Profile name on the tab General , the new profile will not overwrite the profile that it is based on.

Alternatively, you can create a copy of the existing profile first and then edit the profile:

  1. Select Edit ▸ Preferences ▸ Profiles.

  2. Select your desired profile.

  3. Click Clone.

  4. Set your desired profile preferences. These will be saved automatically. If you do not update the profile name, the new profile will not overwrite the profile that it is based on.

Creating a new profile from an existing profile will not affect settings in an existing profile. Any changes to settings will be stored in the new profile.

Edit a profile

If the default profile is edited, it cannot be restored to its original settings! If you have not already created any other Terminal profiles and have customized the default profile, Terminal may become unusable should any settings cause problems. It is recommended that you create a copy of the default profile then edit the copy to create a custom profile.

You can make changes to existing profiles. To edit a profile, select Edit ▸ Profile Preferences.

  1. Select font, cursor shapes and Terminal size.

  2. You may also change behavior of Terminal on command exit, set a custom login shell or change scrollbar preferences.

  3. To change the Terminal background and text colors, see Terminal color schemes.

  4. Changes to profile are saved immediately. To return to Terminal, click Close.

To make sure you are editing the desired profile, select the profile from Terminal ▸ Change Profile.

Rename an existing profile

You can rename existing profiles, including the default profile:

  1. Select Edit ▸ Preferences ▸ Profiles.

  2. Select the profile you wish to rename.

  3. Click Edit. This will open the profile preferences dialog for the selected profile.

  4. In the text box for Profile name, type the new profile name.

  5. Click Close to return.

Delete a Profile

To delete a profile:

  1. Select Edit ▸ Preferences ▸ Profiles.

  2. Select the profile you wish to delete.

  3. Click Delete.