Turn off or limit file history tracking

Tracking recently used files and folders makes it easier to find items that you have been working on in the file manager and in file dialogs in applications. You may wish to keep your file usage history private instead, or only track your very recent history.

Turn off file history tracking

  1. Open the Activities overview and start typing Privacy.

  2. Click on Privacy to open the panel.

  3. Select Usage & History.

  4. Set the Recently Used switch to OFF.

    To re-enable this feature, set the Recently Used switch to ON.

  5. Use the Clear Recent History button to purge the history immediately.

This setting will not affect how your web browser stores information about the web sites you visit.

Restrict the amount of time your file history is tracked

  1. Open the Activities overview and start typing Privacy.

  2. Click on Privacy to open the panel.

  3. Select Usage & History.

  4. Ensure the Recently Used switch is ON.

  5. Select the length of time to Retain History. Choose from options 1 day, 7 days, 30 days, or Forever.

  6. Use the Clear Recent History button to purge the history immediately.