Note Synchronization

Gnote can now keep your notes synchronized between multiple computers by relying on a central server.

7.1. Configure note synchronization

You can configure your note synchronization preferences in the Synchronization tab of the Gnote Preferences dialog. Default conflict handling behavior can be configured by selecting the Advanced... button.

Figure 9Gnote Synchronization Preferences

7.1.1. Configure note synchronization service (WebDAV)

In order to synchronize your notes with a WebDAV server, you will need the wdfs FUSE file system installed. Follow the documentation for your operating system to set up FUSE for your user. You will also need the GNOME Keyring installed.

Choose WebDAV from the Service drop-down list. Fill in the connection information for your server, and then select the Save button. You are now ready to synchronize your notes.

7.1.2. Configure note synchronization service (SSH)

In order to synchronize your notes with an SSH server, you will need the sshfs FUSE file system installed. Follow the documentation for your operating system to set up FUSE for your user. You will also need an SSH key for your SSH server account, which should be added to a running SSH daemon. This can be done using the GNOME Seahorse application.

Choose SSH from the Service drop-down list. Fill in the connection information for your server, and then select the Save button. You are now ready to synchronize your notes.

7.1.3. Configure note synchronization service (Local Folder)

You may want to synchronize your notes to a local folder if that folder is available to your other systems, or if that folder represents a local mount of a remote server.

Choose Local Folder from the Service drop-down list. Choose the desired synchronization Folder Path, and then select the Save button. You are now ready to synchronize your notes.

7.2. Synchronize your notes

You can synchronize your notes at any time by selecting Tools ▸ Synchronize Notes from any note or from the Search All Notes dialog.

7.3. Handling synchronization conflicts

When synchronizing notes between multiple computers, conflicts may occur. Usually this is the result of not synchronizing regularly when switching between systems. Gnote will detect conflicts in the content of your notes and help you to avoid loss of important data.

If a conflict is detected during note synchronization, the Note Conflict dialog will appear. If you do not need the changes you made in your local note, you can select Overwrite local note. If you would like to keep your local changes in a new note, select Rename local note.