What is possible to send is: your country, region, locality, area, street, building, floor, room, and postal code, longitude, latitude and altitude, speed and bearing.
The accuracy and the quantity of information about your geographical position are based on the software or on the infrastructure used to discover your position.
Different kind of networks may have different accuracy settings, and may send different information. The use of external devices such as GPS or mobile phone will increase the accuracy of the information sent.
When the privacy mode is enabled, nothing more precise than your city will be sent, even if you are using an external device.
Only your contacts can see your geographical position.
The privacy mode, enabled by default, is a reduced accuracy mode that will decrease the accuracy of the geographical position sent to your contacts.
Overview of the various geolocation privacy settings in Empathy.
Geolocation is not enabled by default.
Privacy mode is enabled by default.
Privacy mode prevails even when using external and more precise devices.
Only your contacts can see your position.
Creative Commons Share Alike 3.0
Got a comment? Spotted an error? Found the instructions unclear? Send feedback about this page.